Rad Reading November

For the month of November I read The Cay. The Cay was written by Theodore Taylor. The Cay is about a ship that got hit by a torpedo and a little boy (Phillip) getting saved by an older guy (Timothy). Timothy saved Phillip by throwing him on a raft instead of him drowning. While Phillip is on the raft he loses his vision. After a week of sailing they find a cay. After a few weeks on the cay a boat finally saves them. I loved this book because it teaches people about friendship. Also there was a lot of twist and turns. Also it shows that not all books have a happily ending. My favorite character wasn’t the main character but the second main character, Timothy. Timothy is someone who doesn’t care what you look like but cares about who you really are. One character trait for Timothy is egalitarian. One quote to prove this is “Wanting to hear it from Timothy, I asked him why there were different colors of skin, white and black, brown and red, and he laughed back, “Why b’feesh different color, or flower b’different color? I true don’ know, Phill-eep, but I true tink beneath d’skin is all d’same”. My favorite quote from this book is “Yet I could not help worrying. The thought of losing either of them was unbearable. If something bad happened on the cay, I wanted it to happen to all of us”. This is my favorite quote because this shows how Phillip is starting to care for Timothy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *